Sparkle Ears

40594-diamonds-blue-diamonds-wallpaperYesterday, after making a Sunday’s worth of sandwiches, I excitedly drove to Nordstrom’s Rack to buy $9.97 worth of sparkle for my ears. I was happy. Truly happy. First, it was a spectacularly sunny day, work was over for the day, and had $10.00 cash in my hand. I laughed out loud as I snatched the cubic zirconia studs from the rack. Taking my place in line, I contemplated the journey that brought me to that savored moment.

A few months ago, in an effort to further simplify my life and yet again, reduce monthly expenses I cut my hair, short. From that moment to this one, I have often thought, that the silver that has been added as a result of my mother’s death would go well with a pair of diamond studs. In the intervening weeks I have belittled myself many times for entertaining such a frivolous notion in the face of what occasionally is experienced as never ending financial challenge.

Then one morning, while re-reading the book of Ruth I had an epiphany that led to a course correction of rippling magnitude. Considering all the many, many unexpected, unearned miracles and treasures that have come into my life in the last several months is it really so far out of reach to think that the cubic zircons of myself won’t eventually become diamonds?

Clutching my bright future tightly in my hand, I suddenly became aware that a number of people in line were complaining. LOUDLY – about the wait. Couldn’t they feel how blessed we were to be there? Weren’t they too experiencing the sweetness of acquisition? I thought of at least 174 people who would have gladly traded their places for ours.

Arriving home, I immediately put on those earrings then proceeded to laugh at myself, because they didn’t really look at all like diamonds. Then again, they weren’t pretending to be. I left them in and went about the rest of my day. I moved the last of the fire wood to the back fence and swept the porch to make way for the worn lawn chairs that have sat out there each of the years I cared for my mom.

Later, while washing my hands in the bathroom, I happened to glance at myself in the mirror. Not only were my eyes burning brightly, more importantly, they had finally become part of a familiar face.

I may not be totally myself yet, but at least my twinkle has returned.

About bakka2thesource.com

"Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen." Hebrews 11:1 bakka2thesource a collaboration of musicians and artists.
This entry was posted in Life, Life with Deli Woman, love, mindfulness, Overcoming Obstacles, Resiliency, soul, Success, truth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sparkle Ears

  1. Amy Lapetina says:

    You twinkle has definitely come back, Beth; day by day it gets brighter. ILY xxxxxx

  2. Ann Russell says:

    πŸ’πŸŒΈπŸŒ·πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΌ

    Jai, Ann Russell

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Robert Vanderwaall says:

    I’m very happy for you Beth. I have missed your writings. I was kind of getting used to them. Hey, easy on the back. Leave some chores for me πŸ˜‰ Robert v.

  4. Paula C says:

    Can’t wait to see your sparkle, and I am glad it has returned!

  5. Joni says:

    We must be on the dame wavelength…I bought silver sparkly shoes last week…always wanted a paoir and there they wereperfect style….on th clearence rack …… 140.00. Bandolino’s. For NINE BUCKS…….EEEEEEEEEEEK……….I smiled all the way home. πŸ™‚

  6. Sylvie says:

    Hi you, so nice to read a post…I’ve been in withdrawal of your writings… So happy to hear of the sparkle and laughter πŸ™‚

  7. Sam says:

    BETH!!!!! So glad to see you writing again. I’ve missed your wisdom & joie de vivre. And I love the mind picture of you sparkling. Best to you as spring envelopes us all in the joy of re-birth. And hugs.

  8. The sparkle in your writing delights me. And I like pretty sparkly things as well as people.

  9. Beautiful post, Beth. it’s been quite a while now. Glad to read you have the sparkle in your eye. BTW, I lalso have my hair short and very natural and I feel great about it. πŸ™‚

    • I bet your hair looks fantastic!!!! I have missed you all so much. I just couldn’t write about sadness anymore. good to be back. looking forward to catching up on all your insights and to see if there is a must read or two on your list. Great to hear from you.

  10. Mario says:

    What a great blog on aging! I would love to get your insight on something, but can’t find an email address on the page. Please reach out soon. Thanks!

  11. Beth, how are you? It’s been so long. I do hope you are fine. Happy New Year my friend!

  12. globalunison says:

    Hope you are okay, Beth. Long time, we haven’t talked. Hope this reaches you in the best of health and happiness.

    Warm Regards,
    -Naima

Leave a Reply

