One Meter, Stitch, Sandwich, Word, Compassion … at a Time

IMG_1066Like many people, I have spent a good deal of life setting goals. Some  have been easily achieved and others, despite high expectations have fallen by the wayside.

Perfectionist all or nothing thinking, has often led to my biggest setbacks and disappointments. Expectations that do not include room for humanity and beliefs that mis-takes can’t become re-takes have created times of looping back again and again through the same issues.

Many of us set unbelievably high expectations – saying we will never eat desert again or miss running a single day  – with no exceptions. The first time we do – because life intervenes, every step taken to the good of our goal may go out the window.

This is not to say we shouldn’t set our sights high, or that some people don’t achieve incredibly super human standards it is just to consider a both and approach that allows room for learning rather than just powering through at the cost of our humanity.

If caring for mom has taught me anything, it is to honor the pace and reality of life. This is by far the most challenging of all lessons to date. How do we continue to make progress towards our dreams or goals, while staying true to ourselves, honoring our responsibilities, and where we are in the moment?

As of last night I have logged 125,340m, or 77.88 miles so far in the Virtual Challenge. There are people in the challenge, and on my team that have already completed 4 or 5 times that amount. AND for me I see my meters as a HUGE victory.

There are women in my knitting group, who complete an entire project every week, while I continue to rip back, again and again the scallop edge of my shawl. I thought by now it would be finished and I would be posting a picture of it here. Yet row by row it still grows and it is beautiful.

Everyday, I go to work and make the same or similar sandwiches 50 – 60 per day. The next day I start again, and some days I even have to throw away the ones I made the day before. It doesn’t matter. I put my heart and soul into them by considering them works of art some how in service to the greater good.

All of these numbers – meters, sandwiches, knitted projects, goals are created one at a time. Most of us have the strength and resiliency to row one single meter, make one sandwich, knit one stitch or whatever and that is the success on which we must build. May you see this truth for the strength that it is, and experience small happy endings many times in your day.

About bakka2thesource.com

"Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen." Hebrews 11:1 bakka2thesource a collaboration of musicians and artists.
This entry was posted in Life, Life with Deli Woman, love, mindfulness, Overcoming Obstacles, Post grief recovery, Resiliency, soul, truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One Meter, Stitch, Sandwich, Word, Compassion … at a Time

  1. Amy Lapetina says:

    That’s beautiful, Beth, and the best way to go about life. One step at a time. If you do that then you are always making progress. xxx

  2. I had not heard “mis-takes becoming re-takes”. Thank you. Lovely, and elegantly expressed.

  3. Clanmother says:

    You are on a roll…and I am going to tag along. We are going to have an amazing 2013!

  4. Kathy says:

    Sometimes we need to take things one step at a time and be proud of that step because it’s a victory of sorts. Today I learned to do a figure 8 with a Bo staff. Mine weren’t as smooth as my son’s, but being able to do it was a such a thrill for me. This weekend my daughter is getting her next Little Dragon belt in TaeKwonDo. It’s taken much longer than I thought it would but she loves class and is happy. Everyone goes through life – good times and bad, achievements and setbacks, challenges and accomplishments – at their own pace. Thank you for reminding me that it’s ok to just be me.

    • Oh Kathy, you are most welcome and thank you. It is so great when someone shares a bit of their own life – I am still smiling. Congratulations on your latest victory. It takes a lot of slow to grow, not to mention dogged determination and courage. Your children sound so healthy!!!! If only we could remember what they seem to know so easily. blessings and peace to you.

  5. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

