Day One – Blogworld and New Media Expo 2012

It was a great day filled with, buses, subways, strong coffee, sore legs, humidity, enough perspiration to require a second shower, a handful of Ibuprofen, inspiration and uplift. The workshops I attended were bold and well presented. I learned so much that my head is swimming with the amount of tasks requiring completion upon my return. At the same time, I have a renewed sense of purpose and direction. Wouldn’t it be amazing if  all this new information resulted in a blog with greater usefulness for all of you?

Walking around a huge room filled with books, authors, publishers, well I was positively tingling without the aid of a single electronic appliance. What stood most of all was the feeling of power present in a GINORMOUS room full of words, stories, experiences, and information. Although only one percent of all manuscripts are ever published by traditional publishers, that number makes up an unimaginable and staggering amount of work. AND if that success is available to so many, their numbers may as well include me.

The best part was meeting and speaking with others who are as passionate as I am about what they do. I met a number of extraordinary women like Whitney Quon, The Marketing and Events Coordinator for Beyond Words, an imprint of Atria Books/Simon Schuster, who gave me a copy of No One Has to Die Alone by Lani Leary, PHD and Leslie Brody, the author of The Last Kiss – A True story of love, joy, and loss (due out in October 2012), or Rose O. Sherman who writes Emerging RN Leader – A Leadership Development Blog.  Stay tuned for some exciting guest bloggers coming to middlescapes and a few guest appearances by yours truly. I am totally and completely drained but so excited to see what are next steps are going forward. You can be sure that some changes are a comin and I can’t wait to see how things will play out.

I do miss mom.  At the same time, it is great to have a time out from caregiving responsibilities and a chance to re-connect with my own hopes and dreams. Until next week, stay well and well-loved.

About bakka2thesource.com

"Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen." Hebrews 11:1 bakka2thesource a collaboration of musicians and artists.
This entry was posted in eldercare caregiving rowing baking midlife enlightenment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Day One – Blogworld and New Media Expo 2012

  1. Sounds very invigorating! Enjoy being in the moment.

  2. Peggy says:

    Bethie living life, as she was meant to be. Nice to see, my dear. It’s all still out there waiting for you.

  3. Sylvie says:

    sounds so exciting!

  4. Deborah says:

    So happy for you. I can’t wait to read and hear all about this trip. Your excitement is infectious. Bathe in the energy you find there and bring it back to us via your writing. Deborah

  5. Amy Lapetina says:

    Just what you needed, Beth! I can picture that beautiful smile on your face while immersed in conversations with others just like you! I’m so glad that you went; you owed it to yourself. xxxxxx

    • Thanks Amy. My brain and heart are full. I am looking forward to returning to care for my mother with these new insights and gifts as a backdrop. It is exciting to think about ways of operationalizing some of what I have learned. I welcome the feedback that you, and other readers may continue to provide as I take greater risks and experiment with multiple ways of communicating the experience.

  6. Thanks for the information. Didn’t know there was such a thing as Blogworld.

    • It is now called New Media Expo. Next year it will be on the west coast, it coincides with the SF writer’s conference I believe. Really enjoyed the posts I read on your site. Thanks for stopping by. All the best to you, and looking forward to reading more. Beth

  7. Subhan Zein says:

    Sounds like a great experience! Inspiring! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

    • The conference was amazing. I met so many wonderful people, and came home totally jazzed with a to-do list a mile long. I can’t believe you have only been blogging a few months. What incredible success you have had in a relatively short period of time. I have been at this for a couple of years now and am no where near as savvy. I also love the design and visual sensibility of your site. I think that may be where I will need some work soon. In the meantime I continue to concentrate on my writing in the moments when mom is ok left to her own devices.

Leave a Reply

