14 Responses to Our Feisty WWII Veteran – Marcia Zwecher

  1. Erin says:

    There is such a lesson in this, Beth. I find myself in your moms shoes, considering ways to give that same comfort to my child.

  2. Amy Lapetina says:

    Simple acts of kindness can make everything all better. I love this one, Beth. We had a pretty wonderful lunch that day! xxx

  3. Robert Vanderwaall says:

    Dear Beth,

    The good days far out number those terrible bad days when you are around. I have seen an old soldier’s bad day quickly turn around when I addresed him by his US Army rank. I said, “Command Sargent Major, can I get rid of that tray for you? Folks would look up and his day turned out just fine.

    Take good care of each other. God bless you both.

  4. smacken2008 says:

    Touching. And even had a bit of a punchline to make for a little smile.

  5. Pamela Janz says:

    Beth…Your story really warmed my heart…..the same time .trying to picture Marcia obviously a lot different then last time I saw her….You are so fortunate to be able to spend real solid time with your mom…I live 10 minutes away from mine and see her once a week for a brief visit when Im so exhausted from work…all I want to be is at home….its a real heart struggle…lots of love

    • It is hard for me to look at how much she has changed too. At the same time sometimes she glows with something indescribable and seeing that makes me happy. In the good moments there is even a hint of anticipation, much like preparing for any other trip. Take good care of yourself, be gentle with your limitations – I know that is what they want most for you as well. It is good to know the heart tug is the same regardless of time or geography… miss you my wood nymph friend. Sure do wish there was someway for a frolic a la’ Crane Beach or the back yard birthday rain extravaganza. xo

  6. Shawna says:

    The last line – so strikingly true. But moreso for me was wishing to speak to the self that was there at the time…an opportunity to choose the outer world of wisdom and compassion for self…instead of inner world of regret and guilt…with love…

    • Everyday, this is my prayer for you. I love you so much and honor YOUR wise compassionate self that I am in awe of all the time. I hold the vision of a life for you with far less regret and guilt. You are a wonderful friend. Thank you for keeping it real.

  7. Joni says:

    It is the child that returns in the latest stage of life, and in turn, the grown child who cares….

Leave a Reply

